Retrospective Review – Let’s Golf! 3D (eShop)

  • Developed and Published by Gameloft
  • Released on July 28, 2011
  • Price: $3.99 (Nintendo eShop)

I’ve already written some retrospective reviews for past 3DS titles (and I plan to publish more), but for the time being, I would like to turn the focus to some of my favorite games available on the Nintendo eShop.

Without further adieu, I will take a look back at one of the very first 3D games available on the eShop – and my first full 3D download – Let’s Golf! 3D:

Summary:

Let’s Golf! 3D was a simple golf sim that felt much like the classic Hot Shots Golf and Mario Golf titles. There were half a dozen basic courses, based in locations ranging from England (a simple, grassy/forest-based country club) to Greenland (a snowy course set on icy terrain). The basic game design was so simple that anyone could pick it up and play it, and that was nice – LG3D was accessible, and fun to play for a few minutes at a time, whenever the urge to play through a few holes came up.

The campaign mode was decently lengthy, and I spent more than a dozen hours playing LG3D before I completed nearly all of the challenges offered on each course. There was a multiplayer component, so there was actually more content to enjoy, but I never got to play any competitive matches – there was no real competition to speak of, and the lack of “Download Play” meant that I didn’t have any friends to play with locally. The game really would have benefited from Download Play, but there weren’t a lot of 3DS games using the feature when LG3D came out, so I wasn’t expecting it from the eShop title.

Recommendation:

For just $4, Let’s Golf! 3D was a great value when I picked it up last summer, and it remains the same today for any fan of classic golfing titles. The only real issue I have isn’t the price; it’s actually the file size. LG3D takes up more than 1,000 blocks on your 3DS’s SD card, which is a considerably large amount, especially for a relatively simple eShop game. Even after a year of downloading more content, my copy of LG3D is one of the biggest saved files on my personal SD card.

Those comments aside, Let’s Golf! 3D is a solid game, and I enjoyed the time I spent playing it. I would actually be happy to see if Gameloft could expand the game and release a full retail version in the future. For now, this is the best option for golf fans on the Nintendo 3DS.

Final Score: 7.8/10

Leave Some Feedback?

